La main douloureuse

Ink on paper
21 x 27 cm (8 ¹/₄ x 10 ⁵/₈ inches)
1935-36

Provenance

– Collection Guy Lévis Mano, Paris
– Sold to the Centre Pompidou

Description

Drawing reproduced as a collotype by Duval for the cover and title page of Okamoto by Pierre Courthion, GLM, Paris, 1937 (monograph).

Related work:

Wounded Arm, 1936, oil on canvas, 112 x 162 cm (Kawasaki, Taro Okamoto Museum of Art, artist’s former collection).

Exhibited:

– 17 January-24 February 1938, Galerie des Beaux-Arts (run by Georges Wildenstein), Exposition Internationale du Surréalisme, Paris.

– 9 June-24 September 1972, Le Surréalisme 1922-1942, Musée des Arts Décoratifs, Paris, no. 327.

In 1929, the Japanese intellectual and artist Taro Okamoto settled in Paris, where he divided his time between studying at the Sorbonne and painting. From 1933-34, he was a member of the Abstraction-Création group, before developing in 1936, with the painter Kurt Seligmann, the theory of “Neo-Concretism”, a trend dominated by butterflies, drapery, volutes and ribbons. That same year, he painted Wounded Arm, in which the hidden face seems to have been engulfed by an enormous bow tie, a symbol used by Okamoto to convey his desire for power and submission to the pleasure principle. Fascinated by this painting, André Breton invited Okamoto to join the Surrealists.

Our pen and ink drawing was executed at the same time as the oil painting, which was shown alongside the works of Dalí, Ernst, Duchamp, etc. at the notorious Exposition Internationale du Surréalisme in 1938 at the Galerie des Beaux-Arts, Paris. The source of these two works can be found in Acéphale, a review (and secret society) founded in 1936 by Georges Bataille and illustrated by André Masson. Before being a review, Acéphale sought to be an experience. Could man pay the ultimate sacrifice by decapitating himself in order that sacred practices be revealed (transcendent religions, political parties and avant-garde movements) and a new pure lifestyle attained? This idea, resonant with 13th-century Zen painters, had particular meaning for Okamoto.

The imagery of Wounded Arm was probably related to one of the rituals performed by the secret society “Acéphale”, which involved slashing the forearms of new members with the dagger that can be seen in Acéphale’s left hand in Masson’s drawing on the cover of the first review. An initiation ritual to which Okamoto was subjected and which seems to be have inspired our drawing and the painting.

Address

4, Avenue Hoche

75008 Paris

Tel:+33(0)1 42 67 33 80

info@boquet-art.com

Contact

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on email
Email
Share on print
Print

La main douloureuse

Encre sur papier
21 x 27 cm (8 ¹/₄ x 10 ⁵/₈ inches)
1935-36

Provenance

– Collection Guy Lévis Mano, Paris
– Vendu au Centre Pompidou

Description

Dessin reproduit en phototypie par Duval pour la couverture et la page de titre de la monographie Okamoto de Pierre Courthion, GLM, Paris, 1937.

Œuvre en rapport :

La Main douloureuse, 1936, huile sur toile, 112 x 162 cm (Kawasaki, Taro Okamoto Museum of Art, anc. coll. de l’artiste).

– 17 janvier-24 février 1938, galerie des Beaux-Arts (Georges Wildenstein), Exposition Internationale du Surréalisme, Paris.

– 9 juin-24 septembre 1972, Le Surréalisme 1922-1942, musée des Arts Décoratifs, Paris, n° 327.

 

Artiste et intellectuel japonais, Taro Okamoto s’installe en 1929 à Paris, où il partage son temps entre une vie d’étudiant à la Sorbonne et la pratique picturale. À partir de 1933-1934, il participe au groupe Abstraction-Création, avant de concevoir en 1936, avec le peintre Kurt Seligmann la théorie du « néo-concrétisme » où dominent papillons, draperies, volutes et rubans d’étoffe. Cette année-là, il peint La Main douloureuse où un visage caché semble aspiré par un énorme nœud papillon, symbole chez lui de sa volonté de puissance et de sa soumission au principe du plaisir. Séduit par ce tableau, André Breton convie Okamoto à rejoindre les rangs du surréalisme.

Notre dessin à l’encre est contemporain de l’huile éponyme présentée aux cotés des œuvres de Dali, Ernst, Duchamp… dans la fameuse Exposition Internationale du Surréalisme de 1938 à la galerie des Beaux-Arts. Ces deux œuvres trouvent leur source dans le mythe d’Acéphale, inventé en 1936 par Georges Bataille et André Masson : Acéphale se serait sacrifié en se décapitant pour révéler le sacré (transcendant religions, partis politiques et mouvements d’avant-garde) et accéder à un nouveau mode de vie pure. Ce mythe, qui fait écho aux peintres zen du XIIIe siècle, prenait dans l’esprit d’Okamoto un sens particulier.

L’iconographie de La Main douloureuse est probablement liée à l’un des rites de la société secrète « Acéphale » qui consistait à entailler l’avant-bras des nouveaux adeptes avec le poignard que l’on voit, dans les dessins de Masson, dans la main gauche du dieu Acéphale. Un rite initiatique qu’Okamoto se vit lui-même infliger et qui semble à l’origine de notre dessin et du tableau.

Adresse

4, Avenue Hoche

75008 Paris

Tel:+33(0)1 42 67 33 80

info@boquet-art.com

Contact

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on email
Email
Share on print
Print