Maternité

Pastel and charcoal on paper
74 x 59.5 cm (29 ¹/₈ x 23 ³/₈ inches)
C. 1898-99

Provenance

– The artist’s studio
– Ambroise Vollard (acquired from the artist)
– Private collection, France

Description

At the turn of the century, Mary Cassatt’s technique evolved in singular fashion, notably under the influence of ukiyo-e woodblock prints, which, when exhibited at the École nationale des Beaux-Arts, Paris, in spring 1890, made a tremendous aesthetic impact on the Parisian avant-garde.

Cassatt’s stylistic development was characterized by a search for intimacy and a paring down of her artistic resources: the very close relationship between a mother and child became the central subject and the portrait instantly captured the wonderment of everyday life. The absence of a background, the unfinished composition and the limited yet dynamic use of pastel removed the motif from any sense of narrative or temporality and projected it into a space hovering between two or three dimensions.

This frank, sudden outburst of modernity, which distanced Mary Cassatt from Impressionism and her picture dealer Paul Durand-Ruel, aroused the unconditional admiration of Ambroise Vollard, who gradually became her main purchaser and keenest advocate. He was the one who encouraged her to make counterproofs of these final drawings in pastel, a medium that she had not previously used, and whose insubstantial appearance, leaning towards abstraction, thrust her decisively into the radical modernity that would sweep over the new century.

Address

4, Avenue Hoche

75008 Paris

Tel:+33(0)1 42 67 33 80

info@boquet-art.com

Contact

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on email
Email
Share on print
Print

Maternité

Pastel et fusain sur papier
74 x 59.5 cm (29 ¹/₈ x 23 ³/₈ inches)
Signé en bas à droite « Mary Cassatt »
Vers 1898-99

Provenance

– Atelier de l’artiste
– Ambroise Vollard (acquis de l’artiste)
– Collection privée, France

Description

Au tournant du siècle, la technique de Mary Cassatt évolue singulièrement, en particulier sous l’influence des gravures Ukiyo-e, dont l’exposition à l’École nationale des Beaux-Arts au printemps 1890 fut, pour l’avant-garde parisienne, un véritable choc esthétique.

La recherche de l’intimité et la réduction des moyens plastiques caractérisent l’évolution stylistique de l’artiste : la relation fusionnelle mère-enfant devient le sujet central, et l’image concentre, en un instant, l’émerveillement de la vie quotidienne. L’absence d’arrière-plan, le non-fini de la composition, l’utilisation limitée et dynamique du pastel sortent le motif de toute narration et de toute temporalité, le projetant dans un espace qui hésite entre deux et trois dimensions.

Cette modernité, franche et soudaine, qui éloigne Mary Cassatt de l’Impressionnisme et de son marchand Paul Durand-Ruel, trouve un admirateur inconditionnel en la personne d’Ambroise Vollard, qui progressivement devient son principal acheteur et son plus ardent défenseur. C’est lui qui encouragera Mary Cassatt à réaliser des contre-épreuves de ces ultimes dessins au pastel, technique qu’elle n’avait pas utilisée auparavant, et dont l’aspect fantomatique, tendant vers l’abstraction, la projette définitivement vers la modernité radicale qui s’emparera du nouveau siècle.

Adresse

4, Avenue Hoche

75008 Paris

Tel:+33(0)1 42 67 33 80

info@boquet-art.com

Contact

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on email
Email
Share on print
Print